EndNote

Windows

Most databases and Google Scholar have a Direct Export function that will export a reference from a database into your EndNote library.

• Export references from Google Scholar, go to Export from Google Scholar page
• Export databases from Library Catalogue (see below)

Note:

• Your EndNote Library must be open to facilitate the import from a database.
• To create a reference from a database, you need to access it via the William Angliss Library webpage.

To direct export a reference from EBSCO databases:

• select the folder icon next to each item/record you want to export from your search results, then
• Select  option in the top blue bar:                                                     
• Select the items again, then the Export option from the right-hand menu.
  • Select Direct Export in RIS Format.
  • Click Save.
  • Click on the .ris file (or 'Open' the file) to import the item records into EndNote.
  • The records will appear in your EndNote Library in a temporary Imported References folder. Click All References to return to your full list of references.

Export option for other Library databases:

• Bloomsbury Food Library - Citation>Export RIS file

• Emerald - access the preferred article > scroll down to Keywords and citation sections >  'Download as .RIS'

• Food Studies Online database (Alexander Street Press) - access the preferred article > > Select format APA7 > Export to a citation manager > RIS

• IBISWorld - add reference manually or see 'Create a reference from a webpage'. 

• Informit -  access the preferred article > Export Citations > Download Citation > RIS

• Knovel e-books - access the preferred article > Cite > Export citation to RIS (*.ris)

• Proquest - access the preferred article > > Export to a citation manager or file > > Output to: RIS (works with EndNote, Citavi, Mendeley etc.)

• Proquest Ebook Central- access the preferred book/chapter > Cite book (left-hand corner) > Select format APA7 > Export citation > EndNote/Citavi

• Taylor & Francis Online - access the preferred article > Cite this article > Download citation in RIS

• ClickView & Kanopy videos - add reference manually or see 'Create a reference from a webpage'. 

Tips

If the name of an author, title or any other information imports in ALL CAPS:

• select the relevant record, choose the 'Edit' tab,
• highlight text in the field that needs changing,
• go to the Edit menu>Change case>Sentence case.

Mac users

The exported references will appear in the Downloads folder. Drag and drop  the file into the EndNote icon on the dock.

Tips