LibGuides: EndNote: Formatted Bibliography

Formatted Bibliography

EndNote is designed to work with Cite While You Write (CWYW), and

You might use a formatted bibliography because:

Your paper is short and only contain a few references (less than 10 references)
A formatted bibliography is part of the Word document, and not linked to EndNote, can be edited just like normal text;
You are not using Word, but your references are in EndNote.
CWYW / your Word toolbar is not working.

IMPORTANT

Do not cut and paste ANY text containing EndNote formatted citations. It may cause errors in your document.
You MUST unformat the citations if you are planning to cut and paste.

You can work with an unformatted document most of the time, and occasionally click Update Citations and Bibliography, then unformat again.

Note: if there are any errors in the inserted references (e.g. incorrect spelling):

There are two ways of making formatting changes to your list of references:

Steps:

Click on the Style > drop-down arrow and choose another style.
Click the arrow to the right of Bibliography to open up the 'Configure Bibliography' dialog box.
Click the Layout tab to make other changes, such as font; line spacing (APA 7th requires double-spacing for a reference list).

Note

Due to the field codes connection of EndNote to Word, the in-text citations and list of references are shaded in grey when the mouse is hovered over them.

Tips

Windows users - When your work is finished, or you no longer want the shading to appear, Select 'Convert Citations and Bibliography' > 'Convert to Plain Text'. A new version of your work without the shaded parts will be created.
Mac users - Select 'Tools' > 'Convert to Plain Text'.
You need to save this new version with a new file name.