Skip to Main Content

Research skills

Searching the databases

A database is                                                                                                                                                                        
Why DO I need to use the databases                                                                                           
  • a structured collection of information, in either full text or abstract only.
  • from distinguished publishers with article reviewed by experts in their field.
  • can be journal or newspaper articles, reports, media, images, videos...etc.
  • expensive, accessible through library subscriptions, other wise pay per article.
  • It is easier to find a collection of relevant articles to your assignment by searching the right database.
  • Library databases are specific to subjects taught at William Angliss Institute.
  • Library databases have been selected and purchased to compliment the courses taught at William Angliss Institute.                                

Library databases are still the better choices for your research than Google Scholar or Google.

It is not the best practice to Google for scholarly articles:

  • Often a ‘Google’ article will take you only to an abstract only and you will not be able to access the article in its entirety. Or the source that you are led to will require a subscription or a fee.

  • "Googling" any information will probably bring you thousand of irrelevant results and information.

  • Use Google Scholar for academic journal articles. 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar - you can direct access to the William Angliss Library subscribed- journal articles. Users are able to retrieve full-text articles by clicking  on the "FullText@WAILRC" link on the right of your search results.

Note: It is recommended that you use Google Scholar via the William Angliss Library homepage, as it has been linked to the William Angliss Library website.

For example:   

Databases @WAI

Visit the William Angliss Library databases for a list of Library subscribed databases.

EBSCO

A suite of databases to support William Angliss Institute (WAI) courses which includes:

Academic Search Premier

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre

Business Source Premier

Food Science Source

Hospitality and Tourism Complete

Research Starters - Business and Education


EBSCO - EBSCOhost Web - Sign up to create an account > Sign In I Folder

Search

  • To save search results
  • Select Folder icon, right-hand side of the article, to save result
  • Download or Print Full-text article/s
    • /Select "Full text" below a search result to access that article in full text. Then you can:
      • Save as PDF
      • Email your article to your email address
      • Print your article or 
      • Select All Options for more options
  • Can be exported to EndNote to create references for assessments (see EndNote for more information)
Emerald

Tourism and Hospitalilty Collection of journals and ebooks cover topics such as

  • hospitality trends
  • tourism development and behaviour
  • service improvement and business performance
  • talent management
  • destination culture, marketing and sustainability

Emerald - Sign up to create an account > Login > Saved searches

Search

  • Select Only show content I have access to
    • Select:
    • Basic Search or Advanced Search
    • Full-text or Peer-reviewed
  • Save search results for Folder
  • Tick the square icon/s, left-hand side of the article/s, to select article/s
  • Select the Folder icon to save your searches to access later. 
  • Download or Print Full-text article/s
  • Select "Full text" below a search result to access that article in full text. Then you can:
    • Save as PDF
    • Email your article to your email address
    • Print your article or 
    • Select All Options for more options
  • Can be exported to EndNote to create references for assessments (see EndNote for more information)
IBISWorld

An online database that is offering a powerful and comprehensive industry and business reports from Australasia, China, UK, US and Global.

  • Industry market research reports - key statistics, analysis of market characteristics, current and historical performance, major industry performance.
  • Global industry reports - up-to-date forecasts on industry performance in key regions like Europe, Asia, the Middle East and more.
  • Specialised industry reports for Australia and the US - covering emerging, niche or smaller industries.
  • Industry Risk Ratings - analysis determine how much risk an industry will face over the next 18 months by assessing the conditions, structure, revenue outlook and key drivers.
  • Company research - company reports
  • Australian Company Wizards and Company lists - analysis of top companies including revenue, industry sector and shareholders.

Visit IBISWorld to download or print reports. Use IBISWorld via William Angliss Library databases for full access to most reports.

Informit

Collections of the core research from Australia, New Zealand and the Asia Pacific region's leading publishers and associations.

  • APAFT (formerly known as Australian Public Affairs Full-Text) - collection of journals covering Australia's political, economic and social affairs.
  • Business - full-text access to a range of resources from business fields.
  • Humanities and Social Sciences - full-text access to content from a broad subject coverage, such as Aboriginal and indigenous studies, arts, history, political science and more.

Informit - Sign up to create an account > Login I Register

Search

  • Select Only show content I have access to
    • Select
      • Basic Search or Advanced Search
      • Full-text or Peer-reviewed
  • Save search results for Folder
    • Tick the square icon/s, left-hand side of the article/s, to select article/s
    • Select the Folder icon to save your searches to access later. 

Download or Print Full-text article/s

  • Select "Full text" below a search result to access that article in full text. Then you can:
    • Save as PDF
    • Email your article to your email address
    • Print your article or 
    • Select All Options for more options
  • Can be exported to EndNote to create references for assessments (see EndNote for more information)
ProQuest

Collections

  • ABI/INFORM Collection (1971 - current) - Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news.
  • Coronavirus Research Database - A free health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak.
  • Publicly Available Content Database - (Open Access) Designed to complement other databases and collections, this database brings together or links to full text for publicly available content from a number of different sources from around the world.

ProQuest - Sign up to create an account > Login I Register

Search

  • Select: Only show content I have access to
    • Basic Search or Advanced Search
    • Full-text or Peer-reviewed
  • Save search results for Folder
    • Tick the square icon/s, left-hand side of the article/s, to select article/s
    • Select the Folder icon to save your searches to access later. 

Download or Print Full-text article/s

  • Select "Full text" below a search result to access that article in full text. Then you can:
    • Save as PDF
    • Email your article to your email address
    • Print your article or 
    • Select All Options for more options
  • Can be exported to EndNote to create references for assessments (see EndNote for more information).
Taylor and Francis Online

Collection coves topics such as

  • cultural geography
  • foods
  • hospitality trends
  • tourism development
  • planning and marketing
  • destination culture, marketing and sustainability 

Taylor&Francis Online - Sign up to create an account > Login I Register

Search

  • Select:
    • Basic Search or Advanced Search
    • Full-text or Peer-reviewed
  • Save search results for Folder
    • Tick the square icon/s, left-hand side of the article/s, to select article/s
    • Select the Folder icon to save your searches to access later. 

Download or Print Full-text article/s

  • Select "Full text" below a search result to access that article in full text. Then you can:
    • Save as PDF
    • Email your article to your email address
    • Print your article or 
    • Select All Options for more options
  • Can be exported to EndNote to create references for assessments (see EndNote for more information)