Books/Ebooks
- are useful for getting background or an overview of your topics/subjects. For example: Culinary management
- can be in many different formats, such as
- written by one or many authors
- edited books contain chapters usually written by different authors who are experts in their field. They are considered scholarly source.
|
Where to find
|
How to search/browse
|
|
Books
Library catalogue and/or browse the collections on the shelves in the Library.
|
- Check index and/or contents for topic and related keywords.
- Index is located at back with topics/terms listed alphabetically.
Contents is located at front listing chapter content.
|
|
Ebook Collections at WAI Library
- Bloomsbury Food Library - a collection of food studies content that includes reference works, ebooks, images, and podcasts
- Ebsco Community Collection - a multidisciplinary collection that covers topics across various programs and fields of study.
- Ebsco Open Access Collection - a collection that offers access to thousands of titles on various topics without DRM (digital rights management) restrictions.
- Knovel Food Science - covers food safety, nutrition, food ingredients, food microbiology and other related topics.
- Proquest (EBL) - provides authoritative ebooks from the world's top publishers in the areas of hospitality, tourism, events and food science.
|
Search by keywords, title or author
- Check index and/or contents for topic and related keywords.
- Index is located at back with topics/terms listed alphabetically.
Contents is located at front listing chapter content.
|
Journals
Journal articles cover specific topics and subjects, specifically the academics journal articles.
Academic or peer-reviewed journal articles are also known as scholarly journal articles.They are written and thoroughly reviewed by academics who are the experts in their fields.
|
Where to find
|
How to search/browse
|
|
Journals (prints)
|
- Library Catalogue
- Refine your results (on the left-hand side) → Source Types→ Academic journals and/or Publication date range
- Library databases
- Select Peer reviewed and/or Publication date range
Once the article is selected for reading:
- Check abstract and keyword/subject listing for keywords and related topics:
- Abstract provides a summary and outlines main focus.
- Keyword or Subject listing lists related topics and wider focus.
For example: food and sustainability in Australia post COVID-19
View example
|
- Google Scholar - use the Google Scholar on the Library webpage to access Library subscribed journal articles.
|
- Click on the "FullText@WAILRC" link on the right of your search results to retrieve full-text articles.
|
Reports
To search for statistics, industry/annual reports and performance.
For example: Australian Hospitality industry statistics (IBISWorld)
|
Where to find
|
How to search/browse
|
- Library databases - Browse by individual databases or A-Z listing
- IBISWorld - industry, company and risk rating reports
- Google - Government, educational, business and NGO (Non-Governmental Organization) websites.
|
- Check contents and/or executive summary (where available) for topic and related keywords.
- Contents is located at front listing section content.
- Executive summary is located on first few pages summarising content and findings.
|
Images
Visual representation of events, concepts
|
Where to find
|
How to search/browse
|
|
Free/CC image sites
|
- Check for any terms of use, CC or copyright licenses before selecting an image.
- Free images can be freely copied, re-used and adapted.
- CC Creative Commons images can be copied or re-used according to the terms of the specific CC license.
- © Copyright images cannot be copied or re-used without explicit permission from creator.
|
Websites
To search for general background information
For example: Australian Taxation Office - https://www.ato.gov.au/
Australian Hotels Association - https://aha.org.au/
Tourism Victoria - https://www.tourismvictoria.com/
|
Where to find
|
How to search/browse
|
|
|
Check website domain contained in URL and the About Section to decide if the source is academically appropriate.
- .gov → Government
- .org → Organisation
- .au → Australia
- .edu → Education
- .com / .co → Company/Business
|
