LibGuides: EndNote 20: Independent Reference/bibliography List

Independent Reference/Bibliography List

From your EndNote Library you can create an independent/standalone reference/bibliography list. This list can be created without using Cite While You Write (CWYW). When you use (CWYW) you add in-text citations from your EndNote Library in a Word document. This feature also produces your reference list entries automatically.

An independent reference/bibliography list will simply list the sources in a Word document that you have added to your EndNote Library.

The instructions are below to create an independent reference/bibliography list.

1. Open your EndNote Library and select the desired references, click on the appropriate Group, or use the Search command.

2. Check that you have chosen the correct ‘Output Style’ (APA 7th - WAI).

3. From the References menu, choose Copy Formatted Reference to copy the references to the Clipboard.

4. Open a Word document and Paste the references into Word. These will appear in APA 7th Style.

IMPORTANT

Do not cut and paste ANY text containing EndNote formatted citations. It may cause errors in your document.
You MUST unformat the citations if you are planning to cut and paste.

You can work with an unformatted document most of the time, and occasionally click Update Citations and Bibliography, then unformat again.

To unformat citations, select Convert Citations and Bibliography.
Select Convert to Unformatted Citations.
To re-format, select Update Citations and Bibliography.

Note: if there are any errors in the inserted references (e.g. incorrect spelling):

You must go back to EndNote to make the changes needed.
Then return to Word and select Update Citations and Bibliography.

There are two ways of making formatting changes to your list of references:

using options in EndNote ribbon, ie. APA 7th-WAI or
change the layout.

Steps:

Click on the Style > drop-down arrow and choose another style.
Click the arrow to the right of Bibliography to open up the 'Configure Bibliography' dialog box.
Click the Layout tab to make other changes, such as font; line spacing (APA 7th requires double-spacing for a reference list).

Note

Due to the field codes connection of EndNote to Word, the in-text citations and list of references are shaded in grey when the mouse is hovered over them.

Tips

Windows users - When your work is finished, or you no longer want the shading to appear, Select 'Convert Citations and Bibliography' > 'Convert to Plain Text'. A new version of your work without the shaded parts will be created.
Mac users - Select 'Tools' > 'Convert to Plain Text'.
You need to save this new version with a new file name.