Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
© Learning Resource Centre, William Angliss Institute. 555 La Trobe Street, Melbourne, Victoria, 3000 I t: 03 96062237 I e: firstname.lastname@example.org
Food Culture & Society
Call Number: PER 641 FOO
Publication Date: 1996 Vol. 1
Holdings WAI LRC - 2005 on
Published four (4) times per year
Published on behalf of the Association for the Study of Food and Society by Taylor & Francis, Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon. UK
NFL Not For Loan
Food, Culture and Society: An International Journal of Multidisciplinary Research is an international peer-reviewed publication dedicated to exploring the complex relationships among food, culture, and society from numerous disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as in the world of food beyond the academy. It brings to bear the highest standards of research and scholarship on all aspects of food studies and encourages vigorous debate on a wide range of topics, (Website)
Journal of Gastronomy & Tourism
Call Number: PER 641.3 JOU
Publication Date: First Issue 2015
Published by Cognizant Communication Corp. Ltd.
Holdings WAI LRC - 2015 - 1st Issue
NFL Not For Loan
Journal of Gastronomy and Tourism is a multidisciplinary journal inviting research contributions that imaginatively and comprehensively investigate dimensions of food and eating in relation to travel and tourism.
Food has always been an important component of the tourist experience. Tourists eat to survive, but they also consume to discover the place and the intrinsic environments of the visited region. Arousing all senses, food and drink items and the practice of gastronomy include an exhaustive amount of information of significance for both personal well-being and for socializing with others. Gastronomy urges individuals to get profoundly involved, and in recent years this is cleverly exploited in new food related tourism attractions such as food festivals and wine tasting trails, cooking experiences and competitions, open fields, farms and factories, etc. Gastronomy is much more than fine dining.
With the importance of gastronomy in the tourism area gaining a high profile this journal fulfils a need to focus on a wide range of food, gastronomy and travelling with food culture being explored.
Peer reviewed articles from researchers, teachers and academics in the industry. (Website)
Petits Propos Culinaires PPC
Call Number: PER 641.5 PET
Publication Date: 2001 Vol. 1
Publisher Prospect Books
Holdings WAI LRC - 2001 on (all editions)
NFL Not For Loan
This is a journal of food studies and food history that has appeared three times a year since 1980. Together with Prospect Books, PPC was founded by Alan and Jane Davidson. The late Alan Davidson was author of three standard works on seafood and fish cookery, as well as author of The Oxford Companion to Food. The publishing house Prospect Books passed into the hands of Tom Jaine in 1993; the editing and publishing of PPC was taken on by Tom Jaine in 2000, from issue number 64. (Website)
Website: Prospect Books PPC - Online access to Archive and Contents
Call Number: PER 641.5 DEL
Publication Date: 2002 on in Library
Publisher NewsLifeMedia P/L subsidiary of News Limited Southbank Vic.
Holdings WAI LRC - 2002 - Issue 3 on - all issues in the library
Australian monthly food magazine.
All things food - looking at all elements of what we eat. Restaurants, recipes, lifestyle issues and travel with food as a focus. Well known chefs give easy recipes with instructions for everyday menus for families as well as catering for guests and gatherings.
Call Number: PER 641.5 DON
Publication Date: 2003 on in Library
Publisher NewsLifeMedia subsidiary of News Limited, Surrey Hills NSW
Holdings WAI LRC - 2003 on Issue 5 - all issues in the library
The Australian magazine is the brainchild of the food stylist and author Donna Hay. The focus is food and healthy ingredients. All the recipes in the magazine are cooked, tested and photographed in the Donna Hay kitchen. The beautiful magazine features information on the healthy ingredients that are the basis for delicious meals. Style and travel are covered with food included in exciting holiday opportunities.
Call Number: PER 664.9 FEE
Publisher MLA Meat & Livestock Australia
Holdings WAI LRC - 2 years
Australian industry journal
e-journal & print copy
MLA's Feedback magazine is the red meat and livestock industry journal, signposting producers to practical on-farm information and the latest technological advances that are putting Australian producers in a globally competitive position.
Feedback features production information and case studies, snapshots of MLA's global marketing campaigns and recipes from our foodservice and retail initiatives. A hard copy of Feedback magazine is delivered bi-monthly to MLA members. (Website)
Website: mla Feedback website & e-journal & archive
Food - Australian Women's Weekly
Call Number: PER 641.5099405 FOO
Publication Date: 1st Issue 2015 on
Publisher Bauer Media P/L Sydney NSW
Holdings WAI LRC - 2015 on
Seasonal dishes, sumptuous desserts, one-dish dinners and tried and tested recipes from Australia’s most trusted test kitchen can all be found in the new monthly food magazine from Australia’s number one magazine brand, The Australian Women’s Weekly. (Bauer Website)
Call Number: PER 664.FOO:A
Publisher Australian Institute of Food Science and Technology Limited (AIFST)
Archive Holdings 2000 on - please see LRC staff for access
Holdings WAI LRC - 5 years
Food Australia is the official publication of the AIFST. Along with supporting a range of AIFST events, including the annual convention, the publication also supports other industry activities.
Each issue of Food Australia provides readers with coverage of a wide variety of topics and issues, ranging from short news items to longer feature articles and reviews of recent research. It includes regular coverage of news, people, AIFST updates, Q&A and a diary of domestic and international events.
Recent features include:
Exploring the real costs and benefits of the ‘local food’ movement;
The issue of adding more vitamin D into the Australian food supply;
The role of omega-3 in depression;
Nanotechnology in food packaging;
Call Number: PER 647.95 FOO
Publisher Yaffa Media Pty. Ltd., Surry Hills NSW
Archive WAI Holdings - 1998 on - please see LRC staff for access.
Earlier title(s): Innews; Restauranter and caterer; 1984 Inside Dining - see the Archive tab - please see LRC staff for access
Holdings WAI LRC - 5 years
foodService is Australia’s premiere source of information specifically targeted at the professional restaurateur, chef and caterer.
Healthy Food Guide - Australian
Call Number: PER 641.3 HEA
Publisher Next Media, St Leonards NSW
Holdings WAI LRC - 2 years
Location - all issues - bottom shelf display unit
We know you are busy. So we promise to make it easier to eat well, not harder. We live in confusing times, with more product choice than ever. It sometimes seems that everything is good for you and everything is bad for you – it’s hard to know who to believe.
At www.healthyfoodguide.com.au (link below) you will find accurate and unbiased information about healthy eating. We give you simple answers to important questions on food and health. Healthy Food Guide makes it easy and enjoyable to eat well and feel great. (Website)
Australian Meat News
Call Number: PER 664.9 AUS
MLA Meat & Livestock Australia,
Publisher Optimal Media, Richmond, Victoria
Holdings WAI LRC - 2005 on
Meat & Livestock Australia Ltd (MLA) is a producer-owned, not-for-profit organisation that delivers research, development and marketing services to Australia's red meat industry. (Website)
Meat & Livestock Australia Ltd (MLA) strives to be the recognised leader in delivering world-class research, development and marketing outcomes that benefit Australian cattle, sheep and goat producers.
Working in collaboration with the Australian Government and wider red meat industry, MLA's mission is to deliver value to levy payers by investing in initiatives that contribute to producer profitability, sustainability and global competitiveness. (Website)
Call Number: PER 642 OPE
Publisher Creative Head Media Pty. Ltd., St. Leonards, NSW
Archive WAI Holdings - 2006 on - please see LRC staff for access
Holdings WAI LRC - 5 years on
Open House Foodservice is the number one news magazine for the hospitality industry, with a monthly distribution of 20,469 (CAB Audit September 2015).
The market leader for more than 42 years, Open House reaches a who’s who of chefs, restaurateurs and foodservice managers every month and is widely considered a “must-read” for the industry.
In every issue of the magazine our experienced editorial team brings readers the latest news affecting the foodservice industry, investigates the issues everyone’s talking about, profiles key movers and shakers, and rounds-up the hottest new products available. (Website)
What's New in Food Technology & Manufacturing
Call Number: PER 664 FOO:M
Publisher Westwick Farrow Media, Wahroonga, NSW
Holdings WAI LRC - 5 years
What’s New in Food Technology Manufacturing magazine and the Food Processing website - provide busy food manufacturing, packaging and design professionals with an easy-to-use, readily available source of information that is crucial to gaining valuable industry insight. (Website)
Food - Business
Call Number: PER 642.56 RES
Publisher Winsight, Oakbrook Terrace IL., USA
Archive WAI Holdings - 1978 on - please see LRC staff for access
Holdings WAI LRC - 5 years
The US magazine Restaurant Business is the leading media brand in the commercial foodservice industry, with a focus on entrepreneurship, innovation and growth.
Restaurant Business understands the new state of media like no other—recognising the importance and nuances of each—helping you retrieve the information you need, wherever, whenever. Each product of Restaurant Business concisely shows growth-minded restaurateurs how to capitalize on trends, new concepts, changes in consumer tastes, new purchasing strategies, and peers’ best practices.
Our editors track ideas and trends as they develop within key channel segments including high volume independents, multi-unit operators, emerging chains, the top 100 chains plus their top franchisees.
RestaurantBusinessOnline.com, formerly known as MonkeyDish.com, provides benchmarks, ideas, innovations, legislative updates, economic news and other business intelligence for the operators of chain and independent restaurants at all price and service levels.
Built as a resource for the growth-minded restaurateur, RestaurantBusinessOnline delivers the insights and know-how to help entrepreneurs grow their business and increase their profits. They find inspiration and ideas for the right side of your brain and business tools for the left. (Website)
Call Number: PER 641.5 API
Published twice per year.
Publisher Montagud Editores, Barcelona, Spain
Holdings WAI LRC - Issue 18 2012 - one issue.
Apicius is a journal published twice a year that features articles on the creations of renowned chefs and the latest techniques of the culinary scene. Exceptional photography, every issue of Apicius is published with the utmost professionalism. Apicius edition was first released in 2003 and this issue is the first bilingual edtion released on Spring 2012.
Apicius is a Spanish publication now being published in many European countries and now in the US and in England that looks at haute cuisine, culinary and gastronomy. Excellent photographs and articles provide information on culinary techniques.
Call Number: PER 641.5 CHE
Publisher Chef Media Ltd. Chichester, West Sussex UK
Holdings WAI LRC - 5 years
Holdings 2010 - 2017
UK food journal. Articles on current issues in the food and hospitality industry.
Chef Magazine strives to assist foodservice professionals make the right decisions for their businesses by delivering ideas, information and inspiration for success. Chef Magazine integrates the art of food preparation from back-of-house techniques to the front-of-house dining experience.
Chef Magazine offers a unique blend of food and equipment articles, enhanced by reports on industry news and events and other cutting-edge topics affecting the success of today’s industry professional. Its departments provide case studies/profiles, tabletop ideas, business solutions, beverage trends, ingredient uses, management tips and equipment and technology. (Website)
Call Number: PER 641.509931 CUI
New Zealand publication
Publisher 2018 Slick & Sassy Media 2017 Fairfax Media, Auckland, New Zealand
Holdings WAI LRC - 2004 on
2018 the magazine is sold the Editor and Sales Manager with Fairfax having a change of emphasis on their publications. The Editor Kelli explains that 'the magazine will have to change with technology transforming every single phase of the magazine business' (Join the Ride article Cuisine March 2018 Issue 187 page 162) However, the focus is still to promote 'New Zealand food and drink to the world'. Cuisine is New Zealand's top food magazine, with fantastic, easy-to-achieve recipes for every occasion. Regular features include Quick Smart ideas for fast and fabulous meals, The Seasonal Cook, which focuses on new ways with the season's best produce, Flash in the Pan delicious weeknight recipes, Sweet Spot baking using all supermarket ingredients and Cooking for Two, for appealing dinners without all the leftovers. Plus find national restaurant reviews, Best Buy wines, food-related travel and all the latest news on cafe and restaurant openings, as well as top food and drink products. (Website)
Epicure asia life's refinements
Epicure life's refinements is an Asian magazine.
All things to do with Asian food and drinks. The hospitality industry in Asian countries. There is also a global focus with articles about the latest trends around the world including Australia.
Food & Travel UK
Call Number: PER 641.33 FOO
Publisher Green Pea Publishing Ltd. London UK
Holdings WAI LRC - 1 Issue 2015
UK publication that combines food and travel.
Recipes, travel destinations highlighting food experiences. Chefs and cooks are written about and their endeavours provide an insight into the hospitality and restaurant industry. Wine is also a valuable part of this magazine.
Call Number: PER 641.013 GAS
Publication Date: Print 2003 - 2013 ONLINE 2014 on
The Journal of Critical Food Studies
ONLINE JOURNAL FROM 2014 (Links below)
Location - All editions in the LRC
Holdings WAI LRC - 2003 - 2008 Bound copies
2009 - 2013 editions
Publisher University of California Press, USA
Since its inception as Gastronomica: The Journal of Food and Culture in 2001 , Gastronomica has been the go-to journal for important conversations about food. With its diverse voices, cross-disciplinary mix of articles, and cross-cultural orientation, Gastronomica takes food as a starting point to probe timely and necessary questions about the role of food in everyday life. Through studies of historical trends and transformations in food and eating, analyses of the political, economic, and social dimensions of food production and consumption, research briefs on emerging issues in fields related to food research and innovation, creative reflections on the aesthetic qualities of food, and interviews with key figures in the world of food (scholars, activists, producers, and consumers), Gastronomica is at the forefront of the dynamic world of critical inquiry and debate about food. (Website)
Website: Gastronomica access to full text articles
Call Number: PER 641.013 GOU
Publication Date: 2012
Published 2 times per year
Publisher The Gourmand, London, UK
Holdings WAI LRC - 2012 No. 1 on
A food and culture journal.
The Gourmand is an award winning, biannual food and culture journal.
Each issue features 120 pages of specially commissioned words and images—The Gourmand's content is creative, timeless and exclusive. (Website)
Call Number: PER 641.5 LUC
Publication Date: 2011
Publisher Lucky Peach LLC, New York, USA
Holdings WAI LRC - 2011 Issue 2 - 2016
Location - All issues in the Cabinets
Lucky Peach is doubly excited and triply honored to bring home the 2016 National Magazine Award for General Excellence in the Service and Lifestyle category from the American Society of Magazine Editors. Thanks to our peers who deemed us worthy and to everybody who reads us, writes for us, draws and takes pictures for our pages, or casually name-drops us around our fellow insufferable foodies. Winning an Ellie is a big thing for a little magazine like ours, and we couldn’t be more proud of our staff and their tireless, inventive work. Yahoo! (Website)
Lucky Peach is a quarterly journal of food and writing. Each issue focuses on a single theme,
and explores that theme through essays, art, photography, and recipes. (Website)
2016 - Ceased publication.
Website: Lucky Peach Online articles from the magazine.
Call Number: PER 641.013 TAP
Publication Date: 2015
Publisher Spain Media Consulting, Madrid, Spain.
Holding WAI LRC - 2015 Issue 6 on
Spanish food magazine
TAPAS MAGAZINE the first gastronomic and lifestyle magazine created by SPAINMEDIA. A magazine that we are cooking over a low heat, easy to digest. We will try to explain how our planet works by establishing our daily relationship with drink and food. We will do this in English, because TAPAS is a global word, and one of the biggest contributions from our gastronomic culture to the world. (Zinio website)
TAPAS is a brilliant, chatty, well-researched monthly celebrating all things "foodie". Finding inspiration in the present, past and future, it debunks the snobbishness of "trends" while focusing on what really works for the palate. (Magshop Subscription for Tapas)
Call Number: PER 641.013 OLI
Published - 13 issues per year
Publisher Immediate Media Co., London UK
Holdings WAI LRC - 2014 on
Smarter than your average food mag, olive is the stylish, monthly magazine for food lovers with over 50 seasonal recipes each issue. We aim to inspire food lovers to cook new dishes, find great value restaurants and eat exciting foods from around the world. (Website)
Call Number: PER 641.5636 VEG
Publisher Select Publisher Services, Bournemouth UK.
Holdings WAI LRC - June 2014 on
Vegetarian Living is a new magazine for people who want to be inspired by vegetarian cooking. (Website)
Information for vegetarians, vegans or just wanting to eat healthy fresh food, Vegetarian Living provides articles and recipes advocating the advantages of this type of living. How to grow you own fresh vegetables and how to cook them for your family are included in this magazine. Interviews with experts in this field of cooking provide important information about the benefits of a vegetarian lifestyle. (Website)
Culture the word on cheese
Call Number: PER 637 CUL
Publication Date: 2008 Vol 1 Issue 1
All about cheese. Global information on the cheese industry including Australian cheese.