Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote Desktop: Using EndNote with Word on a Windows computer or laptop

This guide will introduce you to features of the referencing software, EndNote, and the resources and support available.

Use Microsoft Word and EndNote together

You can use EndNote with Microsoft Word, enabling you to 'Cite While You Write'. 

These instructions should work for Word 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016 and Word for Office 365.

First you need to open a blank document and check for the EndNote tools in Word. You should have an EndNote tab showing in the ribbon (if this is not showing, check under File>Options>Customise Ribbon. Within the options to the right, tick EndNote 20 and select OK. The tab should now appear. If not, close and then reopen Word). Also, check that APA  7th   is the citation style selected.


Image of EndNote tab in Word on Windows

Insert a citation

  1. Open your EndNote Library that contains the references you want to cite.
  2. Open a document in Word (it is important to do it in this order the first time you use Word with EndNote).
  3. Position your cursor in the paper where you want to insert the first citation.
  4. From the EndNote tab in Word, select Insert citation>Insert citation.

Image of Insert Citation options on Windows

     5.  Enter keywords in the Search box to locate the appropriate reference and click on Find.

    6. Select the appropriate reference from the results and click on Insert.

Multiple citations can also be inserted by repeating the Find method.

Alternatively, select references directly from your EndNote Library by holding down the Ctrl key. Then select the Image of quotation marks  icon in the quick access toolbar, or select a reference from your Library and choose ‘Insert’ from within the reference preview panel.

Insert Citation via Find Method in Windows

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Editing citations

Once you have inserted a citation into Word it should not be edited directly within Word. If you make any changes within the brackets of a citation it will disappear when the reference list re-formats. You must use 'Edit & Manage Citation(s)'.

  1. Click on the citation you wish to change (the citation will now be shaded).
  2. Select the Edit & Manage Citation(s) command from the Toolbar (or right-click the mouse within the citation). You will now see a dialog box allowing you to format the citation.

Image of Edit and Manage Citations command in Word on Windows

 

Adding a page number(s)

Within the Edit & Manage Citations dialog box, you can enter a page number in the box labelled Pages.

e.g. 26 (no punctuation is necessary). 

Image of adding page numbers to a citation in dialog box on Windows

Adding additional text

If you need to add additional text within your citation, you can do this using the Prefix (before) or Suffix (after) fields. 

e.g when referring to a paragraph or section number or name within a website, use the Suffix field,

i.e. , para. 3 (para. is the abbreviation used in APA 7th for paragraph).

Note: Any punctuation needed (e.g.commas, full stops) must also be included.

Image of adding a suffix to an EndNote citation in the dialog box on Windows

You can also format how a reference should be displayed within your assignment/Word document:

Your in-text references/citations can be included within the body of your written work by:

either adding the citation at the end of the sentence,

OR 

using the author(s) name as part of our sentence. 

For example: 

Having reliable information for data measurement in tourism is possible… (Weaver, 2006).

Weaver (2006) believes having reliable information for data measurement in tourism is possible…

If you include the author's surname in your sentence, you can remove the author from a citation.

The Default Format will display the citation as Author (Year).

Image of Edit & Manage dialog box with Exclude Author selected

Removing citations

It is recommend to use Edit & Manage Citations, to remove (delete) a selected citation from your document, available in the ‘Edit Reference’ options.

Edit and Manage Citations dialog box with Edit Reference option selected

 

Tip: You can create a list of references from your EndNote Library without using the 'Cite While You Write' feature (See the Further tips using EndNote and Word tab).

More on editing citations

IMPORTANT : Do not cut and paste ANY text containing EndNote formatted citations.

If you are planning to cut and paste ANY text containing EndNote formatted citations, you MUST unformat before doing this, otherwise  it may cause errors in your document.

You can work with an unformatted document most of the time and occasionally click Update Citations and Bibliography and then unformat again.

  1. To unformat citations, click on Convert Citations and Bibliography.
  2. Click on Convert to Unformatted Citations.
  3. To re-format, click on Update Citations and Bibliography.

This feature is also important if you notice any errors in your inserted references (eg. incorrect spelling). You must go back to EndNote, make the change you need, and then return to Word and click on Update Citations and Bibliography.

Image of formatting options in Word in Windows

Format your reference list

You can easily make formatting changes to your list of references using options in the EndNote ribbon (APA 7th is the style required by WAI), or you can change the layout.

  1. Click on the drop-down arrow next to Style and choose another style.
  2. Click the arrow to the right of Bibliography to open up the 'Configure Bibliography' dialog box.
  3. Click the Layout tab to make other changes, such as font and line spacing (APA 7th requires double-spacing for a reference list).

Image of Bibliography options in Word on Windows

TIP: You will notice that the in-text citations and list of references are shaded in grey when you move your mouse over them. These are field codes that connect EndNote to Word. When you have finished your paper, if you no longer want this shading to appear, you can click on 'Convert Citations and Bibliography' and select 'Convert to Plain Text'. This will create a new version of your work without field shading, but you will need to save this copy with a new file name.