Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote Desktop: Further tips

This guide will introduce you to features of the referencing software, EndNote, and the resources and support available.

Create an independent reference list

By selecting references from your EndNote Library (the references that you have either manually added, created via a PDF or in an online environment) you can create an independent reference list.

This list can be created without using the 'Cite While You Write' feature of EndNote.  

The instructions below are for the Copy Formatted method.

1. Open your EndNote Library and select the desired references, click on the appropriate Group, or use the Search command.

2. Check that you have chosen the referencing style (APA 7th) from the Styles drop-down menu. Make sure that the desired references are highlighted.

3. From the References menu, choose Copy Formatted References, to copy the references to the Clipboard

    4. Open a Word document and Paste the references into Word. You should now have a correctly formatted list.

NOTE: You may need to substitute singe-spacing between references for double-spacing to suit APA 7th requirements.

You can also insert or copy individual references from the EndNote Preview pane to a Word document.

 

Copy Formatted option in EndNote Preview pane

Create an APA annotated bibliography list

An annotated bibliography is a list that contains your comments/analysis of each source. There is no official APA approved format for annotated bibliographies. However if you are required to produce an annotated bibliography, EndNote can assist you to create one.

Though a bibliography list and a reference list may look the same, they in fact contain very different type of information. For more information on the APA style see our APA extended referencing guide.

Creating an annotated bibliography

  1. From the Styles drop-down list choose APA 7th-Annotated (this style may not be in the list, so you will need to 'Select Another Style’ and search for it).

APA 7th Annotated Style selected in Word on a Mac

 

  1. From a reference(s) within your EndNote Library, type in your analysis of the source within the field Research Notes and save the reference. Close the reference

      3. Select the desired reference(s) again within your EndNote Library

From the References menu, choose Copy Formatted Reference to copy the reference(s) to the Clipboard. Alternatively right click the mouse on the reference(s) and choose Copy Formatted Reference   

Image of Copy Formatted option selected in References menu on a Mac

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

 

 

 

 

4. Open Microsoft Word and Paste the reference/s into a Word document.

     Your reference will appear as an APA 7th annotated bibliography list entry. See below.

       

Note: Highlighted text is for emphasis only and not required.

Using EndNote with PowerPoint

You can add in-text citations and references from EndNote into PowerPoint on a Windows computer or laptop only.

1. Open your EndNote Library.

2. Open your PowerPoint presentation.

3. Go to the EndNote tab in PowerPoint.

Image of EndNote Toolbar in PowerPoint on Windows

4. Make sure APA 7th  is the selected citation style.

5.Select the slide you wish to add an EndNote (in-text) citation to.

6. Either 'Insert Selected Citation' if you have already preselected a reference in EndNote, or 'Insert Citation' to find the reference you need.

Image of Insert Citation Options in PowerPoint on Windows

7. To then add the full reference for the in-text citation, choose either 'Insert Selected Reference' or 'Insert Reference'.

Image of Insert Reference options in PowerPoint On Windows

Image of PowerPoint slide with an EndNote in text citation and reference