Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote Desktop: EndNote Web (Online)

This guide will introduce you to features of the referencing software, EndNote, and the resources and support available.

What is EndNote Web?

EndNote Web is a web version of EndNote Desktop. Most of the functionality is similar, although there are some differences. You can sync an EndNote Desktop Library with a Web account if you have one.

This page will show you how to:

  1. Create a Web account.
  2. Add references to your Library.
  3. Organise your references into Groups.
  4. Use Cite While You Write with Microsoft Word
  5. Create an independent reference list
  6. Are you interested in using EndNote on an iPad or iPhone?

 

 

Do you have to have EndNote Desktop to use EndNote Web?

No. While using them together provides a more powerful experience, they can stand alone. EndNote Online without integration with Desktop, becomes EndNote Basic. Learn more here. [COMING SOON]

Getting Started

 To sync your EndNote desktop Library with EndNote Web, click Image of Sync Configuration in EndNote desktop and Image of Sync Now in EndNote desktop   in your EndNote desktop Library or from the Library menu, select Sync, and register for EndNote Web or enter details for an existing EndNote Web account.  

Login to use EndNote Online at https://www.myendnoteweb.com/EndNoteWeb.html

Note: If you have a ResearcherID/Publons account, you can use your login and password to sign into EndNote Web.

 

EndNote Web login via Sync in EndNote desktop on Windows

 

 

 

Adding references to your Library

When using EndNote Web  you can add individual references in multiple ways. You can type references manually or import references from databases or webpages.

Creating a reference manually

1. Go to Collect>New Reference .

 

Image showing how to create a new reference in EndNote Web

 

2.  Choose the Reference Type, e.g. Book, Journal article.

3. Enter the appropriate details in the ‘Bibliographic Fields’, e.g. Author, Year of Publication, Title and Publisher (for a Book). ‘Optional Fields’ may be used, such as Call Number, Keywords and Notes (these will not appear as part of a citation).

4.  Move to the next field by pressing the Tab key.

5.  Click Save.

 

Creating a reference from a database

To create a reference from a database, navigate to the WAI Library's homepage and click on 'Databases' under 'Find Information').

For most databases, you should be able to download or save the .ris file to your device, then in EndNote Web, go to Collect>Import References, choose the relevant file, select the RefMan RIS filter, followed by a particular Group to import into and then Import to your Library.

Import Reference options in EndNote Web

Creating a reference from a webpage

To be able to capture a reference from a webpage, you require an:

  • EndNote Web account.
  • Capture Reference tool plug-in/bookmarklet (available from Downloads in EndNote Web, simply drag and drop onto Bookmarks bar).

EndNote Web with Downloads and Capture selected

This plug-in or bookmarklet allows you to save online references to your EndNote Library using Edge, Firefox, Safari  or Chrome browsers. The plug-in / bookmarklet puts a ‘capture’ button on your toolbar that allows you to capture the information from the webpage that you are looking at and then imports it into either EndNote Web or EndNote Desktop. 

1. Once installed, browse for a webpage. When you have found one, click on the Image of the Capture bookmarklet button on your browser toolbar.

2. A ‘Capture New Reference’ form will appear which has automatically captured information from the webpage. You can fill in as many other fields as you wish. Choose a destination you wish to save it to (my.endnote.com or EndNote).

Image of creating a new reference from a Webpage Capture

 

3.  If you chose my.endnote.com you will receive a message as below. The record will now be visible in your EndNote Web account.

Image of creating a new reference from a Webpage Capture

 

4.  If you chose EndNote, you may be prompted to select how to open the .ris file. Choose the EndNote program, then OK.

Image of EndNote .ris dialog box to import Webpage capture to EndNote Desktop

5.  The following screen will appear.

Successful Webpage Capture to EndNote Desktop

 

Depending on your computer’s settings, the file should import to EndNote desktop, but there may be additional prompts.

Organise references into groups and share

Organise references into Groups

  1. Select the references you wish to group
  2. Click on Add to group from the drop-down menu and select the Group that you wish to add the references to. On the left-hand side under My Groups, you will see how many references have been placed into individual groups.
  3. If you wish to create a new group, click New group from the drop-down menu and enter a new group name. Click OK.
Sharing references
 

Note: Any individual you share your group(s) with must have an EndNote Web account in order to view the references. They are required to enter the email address they use to access EndNote Web.

1.  Click Organise>Manage My Groups

2.  Click the Manage Sharing button next to the Group you would like to share.

3.  Click Start sharing this group.

4.  In the ‘Add E-mail Addresses to dialog box enter the email addresses of the people with whom you would like to share. Choose what privileges you would like to give them, Read only or Read & Write.

5.  Click Apply.

You have now shared a group.

Under My References (within your EndNote Library), you will now see a ‘share icon'. You can click on the icon to view or modify user access.

Image of Groups you have shared under My References in EndNote Web

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Under My References, your recipient will now have a heading Groups Shared by Others.

Image of what a receipient of a shared group sees under their My References in EndNote web

 

Use 'Cite While You Write'

The Cite While You Write (CWYW) feature is already included with EndNote Desktop, so there is no need to download this plug-in.

CWYW enables you to insert references, and format citations and reference lists automatically while you write your papers in Word using your EndNote Web account.

To use the feature CWYW, whilst using EndNote Web, you need to change your preferences on the EndNote tab within Word.

1. Click Preferences from your EndNote tab in Word.

Images of EndNote 20 tab in Word with Preferences selected

2.  Select Application from the ‘EndNote 20 Cite While You Write Preferences’ dialog box.

 

Image of Cite While You Write Preferences dialog box in Word on Windows

3.   Select EndNote online and click OK.

mage of Cite While You Write dialog to change preference to EndNote online in Word on Windows

 

Create an independent reference list

To create an independent or standalone list of references from EndNote Web :-

1. Select Format>Bibliography.

2. Choose the group of references you want.

3. Choose your Bibliographic (or referencing) style.

4. Choose the file format you want the list to appear in (.RTF, .TXT, HTML).

5. Then choose the output (Save, Email, or Preview & Print).

6. The references will appear in your chosen style.

Image of options to create a standalone list of references in EndNote Web

Are you interested in using EndNote on an iPad or iPhone?

Here are some resources:

It is recommended to create an EndNote Web account for added benefit when using the app.

Related EndNote Online training videos from EndNote Training You Tube Channel