Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote Desktop: Adding references on a Windows computer or laptop

This guide will introduce you to features of the referencing software, EndNote, and the resources and support available.

Adding references to your Library

Adding reference information from a PDF

Reference information from a journal article  can also be imported directly if it is in PDF format. To learn more, go to the tab on Adding full text.

1. Entering references manually

Image of selecting the menu or icon to create a new reference on Windows

  1. From the References menu, click New Reference or the New reference icon is a clipboard with a plus symbol on it icon on the quick access toolbar.                                                                                     
  2. Choose the Reference Type, e.g. Book, Journal Article, Web Page etc. from the drop-down menu.
  3. Enter the applicable details, e.g. Author's name, Year, Title, etc.
  4. Move to the next field by pressing the Tab key.
  5. Click the Save icon on Windows     option when finished.
  6. Click the blue cross  at top right to close the reference and return to the home screen.

Note: Quick edits to an existing record, can be done in the Preview pane, and the 'Summary' tab shows how the reference is formatted in the chosen style.

Image of creating a new reference for a book on Windows

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tips:

  • If you have a reference with more than one author, type it on a separate line by pressing Enter.
  • Add an individual author's name by entering the Last Name first, followed by a comma, then the other names, either in full or using initials
  • For group authors, (e.g. corporations, associations, government agencies) add the name followed by a comma (e.g, William Angliss Institute, ). This ensures the name formats correctly.
  • Adding to the Keywords and Notes fields can be helpful for your own searching, or to remind you why a particular reference is useful. These fields do not appear as part of a formatted reference.
  • DO NOT use any of the formatting options available when entering a reference unless required. The APA style will format correctly without them.  Image of EndNote record formatting options
  • When entering, checking or editing any information in an EndNote record, consider the requirements of the referencing style you are using, and any other information that will help you find, or understand the value of the source . Any publication information you enter that are not part of the chosen style (e.g. Place of Publication in APA 7th), will not be included in the citation.

2. Exporting from a database

To create a reference from a database, you need to access it via the WAI Library webpage (select 'Databases' within the 'Find Information' menu). 

When you have found relevant articles from a database, you are able to Select/Mark  them to a marked list or folder for exporting to EndNote (Refer to individual Library database guides/platforms to see how this is done).

Most WAI Library databases have the option to export records to EndNote. 

Note: Your EndNote Library must be open to facilitate the import from a database.

For EBSCO Databases select the folder icon Image of EBSCO individual item folder icon next to each item you want to export from your search results, then select the folder  Image of  EBSCO Folder icon  option in the top blue bar:-

 

  1. Select the items again, then the Export option from the right-hand menu.
  2. Select Direct Export in RIS Format.
  3. Click Save.
  4. Click on the .ris file (or 'Open' the file) to import the item records into EndNote.
  5. The records will appear in your EndNote Library in a temporary Imported References folder. Click All References to return to your full list of references.

Image of screen after a direct export from a database on Windows

See the list below for other Library databases and their export options.

  • EBSCO Databases: (‘Export’).
  • Emerald Database: (‘Download as RIS' above search results).
  • ProQuest Database: ('Cite’, then  select 'RIS...').
  • ProQuest Central ebooks: ( ‘Cite book’, then EndNote option).
  • Informit Databases: ‘Export Citation’ option within a record and  select 'endNote').
  • Taylor & Francis Database:​ (‘Download Citations’ above search results).
  • Food Studies Online Database: (Cite>Export List>EndNote).
  • Bloomsbury Food Library: ( Citation>Export RIS file).
  • Knovel e-books​: ( ‘Citation’ option within a record and 'Export as EndNote').
  • ClickView Videos & Kanopy Video: add reference manually or see 'Create a reference from a webpage'. 
  • IBISWorld:add reference manually or see 'Create a reference from a webpage'. 

Tip: If the name of an author, title or any other information imports in ALL CAPS, select the relevant record, choose the ‘Edit’ tab, highlight text in the field that needs changing, go to the Edit menu>Change case>Sentence case.

3. Exporting from the Library catalogue

To create a reference from the Library Catalogue, you need to click on the ‘All resources’ tab.

Type in the keywords, title or author within the search box and click Search.

Image of a keyword search on the LRC catalogue

From your search results:

  1. Select the folder icons Image of EBSCO folder icon next to individual results next to each item you want to export, then select the folder Image of LRC catalogue Folder icon  option in the top grey bar.
  2. Select the items again, then the Export option.
  3. Select Direct Export in RIS Format.
  4. Click Save.
  5. Click on the .ris file (or 'Open' the file) to import the item records into EndNote.
  6. The records  will now appear in your EndNote Library.

Tip: It is always important to check newly exported references for any anomalies or errors, e.g. sometimes an author's name may appear in the incorrect order. These can easily be edited manually.

Exporting from Google Scholar

You can access Google Scholar via the WAI Library webpage.

1. Search using keywords, or by a title or author.  

2. Click on the ‘Cite’ icon of the result you wish to export.

3. Then click the 'EndNote' option below the citation styles.     

Click on the quotation marks to choose the EndNote option  

 

                                       Select EndNote option to export the result to EndNote

4. You may need to click on the .ENW file to import the record.
5. The record will now appear in your EndNote Library.

Note: Only one reference at a time can be exported from Google Scholar.

Create a reference from a webpage

In order to be able to capture a reference from a webpage you require an EndNote Web account and the webpage plugin/bookmarklet.

For more information also refer to the tab about EndNote Web (Online).

Removing duplicate references

As your EndNote Library grows and has lots of references from a variety of sources, you may find some references are duplicated.

You must remove duplicates if you intend to use ‘Cite While You Write’, to prevent errors in your reference lists.

To search a complete EndNote Library for duplicates, select ‘All References’. Then, go to the Library menu and select Find Duplicates.

  1. Compare duplicate references to decide which to keep. Any differences are automatically highlighted. You can copy and paste information between references if necessary.

Image of dialog box comparing duplicate references on Windows

 

2. If you select Keep this record the other record will be sent to Trash.

3. If you want to keep both records, click on Skip to go to the next duplicate.

4. If you decide to Skip or Cancel, references are held in a temporary Duplicate References group. This Duplicate References group is discarded when you close your library.

Note: While the duplicate process is effective, it may not catch every repeat reference. Manual spot checks are also helpful, and can be identified by sorting references by ‘Title’.