Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote Desktop: Adding full text on a Windows computer or laptop

This guide will introduce you to features of the referencing software, EndNote, and the resources and support available.

Auto-renaming PDFs

You can set EndNote to automatically rename PDFs you attach to records, by selecting Edit>Preferences>PDF Handling, and selecting an option under PDF Auto Renaming Options. Choices include 'Author + Year + Title', 'Author + Title', and 'Author + Year'.

1. Add attachments manually

Attaching a file

  1. Select  the particular reference within your EndNote Library.
  2. Select Attach File.
  3. Navigate to the file you wish to add and choose Open.
  4. The file will appear as an attachment in the record. PDFs will also appear in the 'PDF' tab.

Tip: The PDF view includes features to find keywords, add notes and highlight text. Image of keyword searching an attached PDF Image of PDF annotation options includes notes, underline, highlight

 

 

Attached file view on Windows

 

Attaching a figure

The 'Attach Figure' feature enables you to attach figures,images, charts and tables into the 'Figure' field of references for later citing using EndNote 'Cite While You Write'.

  1. Select the particular reference within your EndNote Library.
  2.  From the References menu, select Figure>Attach Figure.
  3. Within the ‘Attach Figure’ dialog box browse to select the figure to attach to your selected reference.
  4. The figure will attach to the Figure field of the reference.
  5. Enter a description of the image in the Caption field.

Image of a figure and associated caption in EndNote

6. If you want to insert the figure into Microsoft Word, go to the EndNote tab and select Insert Citation<Insert Figure.

Image of Insert Citation option for a figure on Windows

7. Enter keywords into the 'Find Figure(s)' search box. Click Find.

8. Select the result you want.Click Insert.

9. The image, along with text such as Figure 1 and a description of the figure (taken from the Caption field) are now included in your Word document. These may be moved to elsewhere in your document if required, but must conform to APA 7th style.

Image of inserted figure in a Word document

2. Import reference from a PDF

You have the option to create a reference from a PDF file that you may have on your computer. 

  1. Go to File>Import>File
  2. Within the ‘Import File' dialog box, at Import File, choose the PDF to import, at Import Option, select PDF, and then Import. The record will appear in your EndNote Library and the PDF file will be attached to the record.

Image of Import PDF dialog box in Windows

Note: You can also import a whole folder of PDF files in the same way.

Note: A PDF must contain a DOI in order to import all of the reference details. Where EndNote is unable to import the reference details, it will still create a new reference with the PDF attached, which you can use to input the details manually.

"A DOI is a unique alphanumeric string that identifies content and provides a persistent link to its location on the internet". 

Reference:
American Psychological Association. (2019, September). DOIs and URLs. APA Style. https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/dois-urls

Example of a DOI: https://doi.org/10.1080/02642069.2015.1090980  

3. Find full text files on the Web or from Library databases

For references that you already have within your EndNote Library, EndNote can attempt to locate full text PDFs on the Web or via the WAI Library. Once found, EndNote downloads and attaches the files to the references.

If you are on campus:

  1. Select the reference/s  that you want to find full text for.
  2. Click the Image of a magnifying glass on a document    icon, or from the References menu select Find Full Text>Find Full Text.

Image of Find Full Text menu option on Windows

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Searching

The ‘Searching’ group displays the current set of references for which EndNote is attempting to find full text (the references that you have selected). When the full text search is completed, this group is deleted.

Image of Searching for full text Group on Windows

Depending on the results, you may see a combination of three different groups under the Find Full Text group set:

Found PDF

This group displays the set of references for which EndNote inserted the PDF file as an attachment. These references display a paper clip icon in the File Attachments column. If a URL is also found, it is added to the reference, but the reference is not included in the Found URL group.

Found URL

This group displays the set of references for which EndNote has inserted a URL, but did not find a full text document to attach.

Not found

This group displays the set of references for which EndNote could not identify a full text document or URL.

Image of Find Full Text Groups after search is completed on Windows

To use the Find Full Text feature as a William Angliss student off-campus, go to Edit>Preferences>Find Full Text, and enter https://login.ezproxy.angliss.edu.au/login?url=http://scholar.google.com/ in the Authenticate With field.

Leave the Open URL path blank. Click Apply, then Ok. Then follow the on campus instructions above.

Image of EndNote Find Full Text Preferences on  Windows