Skip to main content

Research and Learning skills: Where to find the information

Where to start.....

It is important to find and access high quality information and resources for your assignments.

You can start with what your teacher provides you with such as:

  • Class notes, Course readings

  • Recommended readings

  • Textbooks

Then, you can proceed to search for other resources to build on your research and knowledge by using various research tools suggested on this page to conduct your research.

The Web

The web can be a great place to find information, but it can also be a problem, too. If you don't know or not sure of what or where you should be looking for, or whether the information is accurate or relevant.

For more information on how to evaluate information, go to the Evaluating sources tab.

Quick search

LRC Catalogue - to search for resources in the library collection.

There are two options/tabs when searching for LRC resources:

All resources - where you can find relevant resources ranging from electronic Academic journal articles from databases, news articles, ebooks, videos to books, based on your search terms.

On the shelf - where you can find resources such as printed academic journals, magazines, books, DVDs that are available in the LRC.

LRC subject guides

The subject guide provides more course specific resources.

LRC has guides for the following areas: Baking and Patisserie, Culinary Arts, Hospitality and Tourism and Events. 

Other useful guides such as APA ReferencingEndNote and Journals@Angliss are also available.

LRC Databases

To find more specialised information such as Peer-reviewed journal articles for your assignments, you will need to use or access LRC databases. All subscribes LRC databases are selected to suit the courses taught at William Angliss Institute.

For Databases how-to-search guides, go here.

Google Scholar is Google's academic search engine that searches across scholarly literature including academic online journals, conference papers, dissertations, technical reports and e(books).

Google Scholar can be a good place to start a search, helping to:

  • Locate obscure references difficult to find in library databases

  • Find more details on partial citations or incorrectly cited works

  • Find unpublished or published resources in a non-commercial form, other wise known a grey literature such as government reports, policy statements and issues papers.

  • Discover useful journals or databases to explore in more detail.

NOTE: To search for WAI LRC databases through Google Scholar. Full text journal articles and research papers can be retrieved by clicking on the “ FullText@WAILRC" link when it appears to the right of your search results. This will happen automatically while on campus but may need to be set up as "Library Links" under Scholar Settings (external link) to work from off-site.

*However, it is tempting to just search Google Scholar, library databases provide a more efficient and effective means to access information.

Loading ...
© Learning Resource Centre, William Angliss Institute. 555 La Trobe Street, Melbourne, Victoria, 3000phone (03) 96062237e-mail: lrc@angliss.edu.au